I have been thinking of San Miguel the last few days. Preparing for my return January 30, 2012. So I opened up my blog and the first post that popped up grabbed me and sent me back to my youth.

In the early sixties I remember holding a beatnik party at my house.

We all dressed up like Beatniks and read poetry and pretended we were smoking.

We all said ” strictly dullsville” and ” Daddy-O”

We were cool.
______________________________________________________________________________

Time passed and the Hippies came. I never had a Hippy party because I actually tie dyed a few t-shirts and had one joint.

I might have made that V peace sign with my fingers once.

I did listen to the Mommas and the Poppas.

I did paint flowers on a boat my parents had.

But eventually that all went away and I became a parent.

__________________________________________________________


Well the Hippies movement really didn’t die out. Most escaped the 70’s. 80’s. 90’s. and the whole of the 21st century by coming to San Miguel and keeping the culture alive.

No will look strangely at you when you say “Hey Man”.

In fact no one will look strangely at you no matter what you wear, or smoke.

Hey Man, Peace.

Come to San Miguel de Allende.

It’s cool.

You can hang out here.